Pumpkin, Pecan & Banana Cake

Ta Da!!!!! It is hereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Hello there, Autumn. I didn’t realise how much I had missed you. I’m conflicted and in tradition of being a walking contradiction, my mood dependence on the sun aside, my favourite seasons are Autumn and the first half of Winter (the part with Christmas in, after that it seems an endless drag to the time when we’ll ever feel warm again). This coming Winter though, it can throw all the cold it likes at me because in the Spring, James, his family and I are going to Orlando Disney! I have never been and to say I am excited it an understatement, I am almost unable to process how excited I am. I love Disney and I love Harry Potter even more.

Pump

So, long introduction aside. Autumn is here and I wanted to try to change up my beloved banana cake with something more seasonal that meant I could dig out my favourite loaf tin (the recipe would make one 9 inch round cake or two standard loaf tins). A quick Google search found me this recipe, which I used as a basis but made a few tweaks to. It was pretty delicious, comforting like a banana cake but beautifully coloured by the pumpkin, with those Autumn spices and pecan crunch, eeesh.

In other news, did anyone see the first day of Autumn Google doodle with the squashes and the squirrel? My favourite yet!

Ingredients:

  • 115 g of unsalted butter
  • 200 g of brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 200 g of tinned pumpkin
  • 2 (medium – large) bananas, mashed
  • 315 g of plain flour
  • 2 tsp of baking power
  • 0.5 tsp of baking soda
  • 0.5 tsp of salt
  • 0.5 tsp of cinnamon
  • 0.5 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1 tsp of ginger
  • A handful (0.5 – 1 cups) of pecans, chopped

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F.
  2. Grease and flour your tin ( a ~9 inch round tin or a couple of loaves).
  3. Cream together the butter and sugar.
  4. Beat in the eggs, individually.
  5. Mix in the pumpkin and banana.
  6. Gradually mix your dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.
  7. Pour the batter into your tin(s).
  8. Bake for one hour and then insert a skewer into the centre. If it comes out clean then it is cooked. If not, keep cooking but check every 5 minutes or so until it is cooked.
  9. Leave to cool down slightly in the tin (if your tin is elaborate like mine, or a bundt, at least 20 minutes or until the cake has separated from the sides), then remove to cool completely on a wire rack.
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin, Pecan & Banana Cake

Leave a Reply

