Thai Pasta

I know there is nothing Thai about pasta but when I spotted a jar of fresh coriander pesto in the supermarket the other day it brought back so many good food memories (I used to LOVE the stuff as a kid), that I just had to buy it. I was wondering if I could do something slightly different with it than just pasta with pesto, so I decided to create a dish inspired by Thai flavours (pasta inspired with Thai flavours was too wordy a title for this post). The danger of blogging, for me anyway, is a little too much planning what you’ll cook and I miss being able to decide on the day with what’s in the fridge/freezer and create a meal (it isn’t just blogging, a too-long-for-my-liking commute and the expense of shopping daily (as oppposed to weekly) are also factors) but tonight I just winged it, and it was delish! So here is a quick and easy pasta dish with a Thai twist.

Thai Pasta

Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • Enough pasta for two people, cooked as per instructions (I usually do 70 g of dried (gluten free) pasta per person, this is a moderate portion)
  • One large or two small chicken breasts, diced
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 tbsp grated lemon grass
  • 1 tsp grated chilli (I keep my ginger, lemon grass and chilli in the freezer which means I always have them fresh and to hand, the chilli and lemon grass are much easier to grate when frozen, I use my trusty microplane)
  • One red pepper, diced
  • Several handfuls of spinach (feel free to substitute whatever vegetables you have, this is a throw it all together kind of meal)
  • 2 tbsp of fresh coriander pesto (make your own if you have time, sometimes though, convenience comes first)
  • Olive oil

Method:

  1. Place a little oil into a large frying pan (enough oil to lightly fry the chicken) with the grated ginger, chilli and lemon grass.
  2. Start cooking your pasta if you haven’t already.
  3. Gently heat the oil in the pan and once hot add the chicken.
  4. Cook the chicken for a few minutes and then add the peppers.
  5. Once the chicken is almost cooked, add in the spinach and stir until just wilted.
  6. Drain the pasta and add it to the frying pan, followed by 2 tbsp of coriander pesto.
  7. Stir until everything is coated in pesto and keep stirring over a low heat until piping hot.
  8. Serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

