Christmas Pudding Vodka

I’ve made this as a Christmas gift this year and thought I should share the idea in case you were looking for a way to spice up your festive drinks cabinet. I’m a mulled wine or sloe gin kind of girl but the vodka drinkers shouldn’t be left out during the festive season, so this one is for them. It is great because it only takes a few days, unlike other festive booze which can take months (i.e. sloe gin – I can’t wait to drink mine, it is now a deep red colour, it looks gorgeous!!!).I only really drink in December, I just love all the festive drinks on offer.

Christmas pudding vodka.jpeg

When it came to executing this festive vodka plan, I have the Hairy Bikers to thank, this is their recipe. I’m still trying to think up a cunning plan of how to use the left over soaked fruit…

Ingredients:

  • 300 g of mixed dried fruits (sultanas, currants, raisins)

  • 75 g of caster sugar

  • 2 cinnamon sticks

  • 2 tsp ground mixed spice

  • 6 cloves

  • Half a whole nutmeg, finely grated (I used my trusty Microplane)

  • Zest of one orange, finely zested (again I used my Microplane)

  • Zest of one unwaxed lemon, finely zested

  • 750 ml bottle good quality vodka

Method:

  1. Mix the dried fruits with sugar, spices and zests in a large bowl.
  2. Pour the vodka into the bowl, stir and cover tightly with cling film.
  3. Place in the fridge and leave it in there for 3 days. Stir it daily.
  4. Line a sieve with two layers of fine muslin/cheesecloth over a large jug or bowl.
  5. Pour the mixture through the sieve and allow to drip through into the jug.
  6. Gather the sides and twist to squeeze as much vodka as you can out of the fruits.
  7. Pour into a sterilised bottle.
  8. Enjoy, store in the freezer for an extra cold tipple.

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas Pudding Vodka

  1. Pingback: The Homemade Christmas Gift Guide | Noisette

Leave a Reply

