Gingerbread Bundt

Good golly, this cake! It is heaven, never have I had so many requests for the recipe of a cake I’ve baked (and so little time to blog it, goodness this month has been the most exhausting of my life). It is perfectly spiced, beautifully moist and the perfect accompaniment to tea, coffee, hot chocolate or mulled wine; what more could you ask for?! I found the recipe online after searching for ‘gingerbread bundt’ as I wanted to use my beautiful Nordic Ware tree bundt tin for my work’s Christmas party; King Arthur Flour had this stunning recipe.  I HAD to make another one so that I could use my new Nordic Ware Gingerbread Family tin, which James took to work (and I took a small loaf of the baked remaining cake mixture into work to fulfil demand for this sumptuous festive tea break addition). Both parties demanded the recipe, honestly I can’t stress enough how good this cake is, pictures don’t do it justice at all.

GB bundt

As for glazes, I wanted a white finish (with a gold shimmer) on the trees (snow of course) so I just used icing sugar and water, for the loaf I used a thinner mixture with a tbsp or 2 of brandy plus water. I wanted a solid white finish on the trees but just a glaze on the loaf.

GB loaf

Ingredients:

  • 300 g of plain flour
  • 15 g of gingerbread spice ( i.e. 2.5 tsp of ground ginger, 1.5 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of nutmeg, 0.5 tsp of ground cloves, 0.5 tsp of allspice)
  • 0.5 tsp of salt
  • 0.25 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 170 g of unsalted butter, sofened
  • 320 g of brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 170 g molasses/treacle
  • 230 ml of water (1 cup) – I used warm water in my empty treacle tin to get the last of the treacle

Glaze:

  • 75 ml or water (or 50 ml water and 25 ml of brandy/rum)
  • 0.5 tsp of gingerbread spice (or 0.25 tsp each of ginger and cinnamon)
  • 150 g of granulated sugar (I opted for icing sugar)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Grease a flour a 10-12 cup cake tin.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, whisk the butter and sugar until fluffy.
  4. Mix in the eggs one at a time, making sure to scrape down the edges and incorporate all the mixture.
  5. Mix in the molasses/treacle.
  6. Sieve the flour, spices, salt, baking soda and baking soda into the bowl and mix bit by bit with the water. Keep mixing until the mixture is properly incorporated and smooth.
  7. Pour the mixture into the tin, if it is a complex tin, bang the tin onto a work surface to remove bubbles and make sure the cake mix has got into all the small parts of the design.
  8. Bake for 55-65 minutes, until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.
  9. Leave the cake to cool for at least 20 minutes (if it is a bundt) and the cake has come away from the sides before turning out onto a cooling rack. Be prepared to wait much longer, it depends on a lot of factors but if you rush turning out a bundt it can all go horribly wrong.
  10. Whilst the cake is cooling in its tin, make the glaze by mixing all the ingredients in a bowl until smooth.
  11. Glaze the cake using a pastry brush once turned out but still a little warm.
  12. Allow the cake to cool completely.
  13. Serve and Enjoy!!
2 thoughts on “Gingerbread Bundt

Leave a Reply

