Pear and Chocolate Pudding

This dessert, I can only apologise for not sharing the recipe earlier. It is divine, I have already talked about my love of cooked pears but holding out on this recipe resulted in one top tip being discovered; do not pair it with ice cream, only plain cream. Ice cream is one of my favourite desserts and this pudding is another of my favourite desserts so I decided to combine the two. No no no, it is far too sweet, to the point that I thought I’d accidentally doubled the sugar because having vanilla ice cream surely wouldn’t make that much difference?! Having seconds the next day without ice cream (alas we were out of cream) showed that actually yes, it does make that much difference and you should either have it plain or with cream, to cut through the choclateyness of the pudding but don’t add anything sweet with it; the pears and chocolate are perfectly sweet on their own, they do not need anything else.

Pear pudding

I know this next picture shows it with ice cream but I just wanted you to see how rich and chocolatey it is inside, despite the paler crust.

Pudding

I first ate this when having dinner at a friends, it took all my restraint not to go back for 2nds, 3rds and 4ths. I remembered them saying there were only 75 g of flour in the recipe, so armed with that information and the internet, I found the recipe. I’ve made it for my family, James’ family, just myself and it has been a hit with everyone.  The great thing is that you can double or treble the quantity of pears to feed more people but keep the chocolate mix the same, which is what I did in the photo above; you get a little less chocolate pudding with your pear but for once I don’t mind, the pears are delicious. You can use up fresh pears (boil peeled and halved for 5 mins to reduce baking time) or you can use tinned, both work. You don’t even need to put the chocolate chunks on the top if you don’t have any chocolate in the cupboard. The original recipe used almonds, as much as I love them, I decided it was one too many flavours in the mix.

I have made it with plain and with gluten free flour, I honestly could not tell the difference!

Ingredients:

  • 200 g of unsalted butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 300 g of golden caster sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 75 g of plain flour (gluten free is required)
  • 50 g of cocoa powder
  • 410 g tin of pear halves (in juice), drained
  • 100 g of plain dark chocolate (ideally about 70% cocoa solids)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C fan and grease a ~20 x 30 cm oven dish (such as a casserole dish, anything will do).
  2. Melt the butter in a saucepan or gently in the microwave in a glass jug.
  3. Stir the sugar into the melted butter until well combined.
  4. In a large mixing bowl, whisk the 4 eggs.
  5. Slowly whisk the butter/sugar mixture into the eggs.
  6. Sift the flour and cocoa powder into the mixture and mix until smooth.
  7. Pour the mixture into the prepared dish and the place the pear halves into the dish, on the chocolate mixture.
  8. Break the chocolate into small chunks and sprinkle over the top.
  9. Place in the oven for 30 minutes or until the top forms a crust and the inside is lightly cooked but squidgy.
  10. Serve warm, plain or with cream!

 

4 thoughts on “Pear and Chocolate Pudding

Leave a Reply

