Pancakes! Pancakes! Pancakes!

So, Tuesday will bring with it one of my favourite days of the year, Pancake Day! I love pancakes, they are somewhat of a household tradition and I can’t wait for the excuse to have then for dinner, DINNER!, on Tuesday.

We are half way through our packing, ready to move on Saturday, needless to say new recipes and blogging has taken a back seat, but don’t worry once we’re settled I’ll be posting regularly (I know, but try not to worry too much ;)).

I couldn’t resist the chance to share with you my a round up of pancake recipes though!

We’ll be having my favourite gluten free pancakes but with a topping inspired by this baked apple and cinnamon Dutch pancake (which I love but you don’t get the pancake flipping antics that are a must on pancake day). For the gluten free people out there, gluten free flour actually makes really good pancakes. Hallelujah!

Pancakes

Coming in a close second in the ‘favourite pancake’ stakes are these banana bread pancakes, which really should be served with Nutella and fresh strawberries but I’ll let you off it you pick something else. These pancakes have healing powers.

If you do fancy a baked pancake but don’t fancy the apple and cinnamon combo mentioned above, you could try cherry & almond or berry Dutch pancakes.

If you’re after some flippin’ fun then you can’t go wrong with Orangette’s buckwheat pancake recipe; or if it is decadence you want, then these salted caramel and chocolate buttermilk pancakes are what you need.

Fancy something different? Why not give sweet potato pancakes a go.

Perhaps you prefer something savoury, you could make some chicken, leek and bacon boxty (Irish potato pancakes) or manicotti (pasta pancakes filled with spinach and ricotta and baked in a tomato sauce).

What’s your favourite pancake recipe? I’m always on the look out for new pancakes to try, let me know!

Talk to me about toppings… Are you strictly lemon and sugar? A maple syrup messiah? Nutella, jam, golden syrup, fruit, cream? Let’s talk about this.

5 thoughts on “Pancakes! Pancakes! Pancakes!

  1. So I have always been strictly lemon and sugar on crepes. Bacon, banana and maple syrup on American Pancakes. But recently I decided to make cinnamon roll pancakes…they changed my life. I need to finalise my recipe, but I’d say they are the best pancakes ever. Apart from Ottolenghi’s green pancakes.

  2. I used to not like pancakes. Ever since hitting month 7 of my pregnancy that’s all that I crave for breakfast every morning. Now it’s turned into a tradition of waking up, having water and juice, going for a long walk with the dogs, then coming home, making pancakes, and watching an episode of something (usually Big Love) while they cook.

    I must admit that I don’t really opt for the healthier option. I use a pre-made mix, then add a banana and vanilla. Then slather in butter and maple syrup. Hey, I’m allowed to indulge for a little while longer, right? I’ll be using your health-wise recipes once I’m no longer pregnant, though. Mmmmm …

    <3<3
    Emory

    • That sounds like a gorgeous morning routine. You’re going to have a little pancake fiend of a child haha ❤ I love the less healthy pancakes too. Banana pancakes are so yummy and yes you are absolutely allowed to indulge! Hope you are doing well 🙂

Leave a Reply

