Raspberry Ripple Ice Cream

Hello!! I haven’t blogged in weeks and I have missed it (I’m making the most of this extra day we have!). We’ve moved house, unpacked (almost, we’re waiting on a book case and an arm chair) and I have handed in my masters thesis (whilst working too); it has been a busy few weeks. We’re in our new home though and I am besotted, I love it here. I am equally besotted with this ice cream. I would never order raspberry ripple given the choice but this home made version made with fresh raspberries is ABSOLUTELY divine. Perhaps my favourite ice cream flavour of all the flavours that I have ever made.

IMG_20160220_233805

The recipe is of course a David Lebovitz recipe, my ice cream oracle, from his book ‘The Perfect Scoop’.

Ingredients:

  • 250 ml of whole milk
  • 130 g of sugar
  • 375 ml of double cream
  • A pinch of salt
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 0.5 tsp of vanilla extract (it is really worth paying a bit more for good quality vanilla, it’ll steal the show)

Raspberry Ripple:

  • 160 g of raspberries (I put a few extra in), fresh or frozen
  • 45 g of sugar
  • 1 tbsp of vodka (or any other spirit you’d like, I opted for sloe gin)

Method:

  1. Make sure the bowl of your ice cream maker is thoroughly frozen (I keep mine in the freezer for several days before making ice cream).
  2. Warm the milk, sugar and salt in a medium saucepan.
  3. Place the cream into a large bowl and place a sieve over the top.
  4. In a separate bowl or jug, whisk the egg yolks.
  5. Slowly pour, whilst whisking constantly, the warm milk mixture into the egg yolks and then pour the warmed yolk-milk mixture back into the pan.
  6. Stir the mixture over a medium heat and keep stirring until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spatula, to make a custard.
  7. Pour the custard through the sieve and stir it into the cream.
  8. Stir in the vanilla.
  9. Ideally, stir the mixture over an ice bath (I don’t normally have one and just leave it to cool slightly).
  10. Chill thoroughly in the fridge.
  11. An hour or so before churning the ice cream, mash up your raspberries with the sugar and alcohol and set aside.
  12. Churn your ice cream as per the ice cream maker’s instructions.
  13. Layer your ice cream in a tub with the raspberry ripple, alternating layers and then swirl slightly.
  14. Place the ice cream in the freezer to firm up (if you can wait).
  15. Scoop and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Raspberry Ripple Ice Cream

  1. Glad you’re settling in Holly! I’ve definitely been missing your posts though. I haven’t had raspberry ripple in years, my nan just to give it to me every time I visited when I was very, very little. Brings back very fond memories 🙂

    • Aww ❤ that's lovely. I'll be back on track soon haha. I would never order raspberry ripple normally but home made was delish, not as sweet but definitely proper raspberry!

Leave a Reply

