Red Wine and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream (no churn)

When I spotted this recipe of the fabulous Flick’s diamond of a blog (see what I did there?), I knew I would love this ice cream as much as she did and filed it away for when the time was right (go and check her gorgeous blog out right now!). The right time turned out to be Mother’s Day (in fact any day and any time is the right time for this ice cream). It is SO rich but in THE BEST way possible. It also does not require the use of an ice cream maker, unlike the other ice cream recipes I have shared, so it is accessible to everyone, hallelujah!

Red wine choc ice cream

I must apologise to Flick for totally, accidentally, stealing her photograph it in a wine glass idea. When making it I just scrolled to the bottom and skimmed the recipe part of the post (having read it already months previously) and then realising I’d run out of tubs big enough, put it in a loaf tin (as I’d remembered Flick had done, genius idea). When I aome to photograph it some days later I realised I couldn’t blatantly photograph it in the tin as Flick had, so I had this great idea about putting in a wine glass. Except, we’d clearly had the same idea. Sorry Flick! My photography skills are no where near the realm of Flick’s though, so you should totally check out all her food (and other) posts and try not to drool. (How many more times can I type Flick in this post?!).

Anyway… the recipe!

Actually, one more thing, this week has been jam packed with lovely things but has left be feeling exhausted. After napping on the bus home and getting home feeling groggy and desperate for something rich and chocolatey, I was beyond happy to remember I had the last couple of scoops of this (and home made mint chocolate chip) in the freezer. Day made.

Oh and another thing! It is SO easy to make.  

Ingredients:

160 g of dark chocolate (I used a mixture of 85% and 80% cocoa solids)
300 ml of double cream
0.5 of a can Condensed Milk (~200ml)
400 ml of red wine
Method:
  1. Pour the wine into a saucepan and reduce it until there is only a few tablespoons of liquid left. Set it aside to cool.
  2. Break the chocolate into chunks and then melt it in a glass bowl in the microwave in 30s bursts, stirring each time.
  3. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the double cream and condensed milk until it forms stiff peaks.
  4. Fold the chocolate and wine syrup into the cream mixture.
  5. Spoon the mixture into a large Tupperware box with a lif or cover with clingfilm.
  6. Leave in the freezer for at least 6 hours, or until solid.
2 thoughts on “Red Wine and Dark Chocolate Ice Cream (no churn)

Leave a Reply

