Courgette & Basil Soup

Now we live somewhere with a garden, I decided I wanted to grow my own vegetables this year. I dug up a very overgrown flower bed, bought some seeds and a small plastic green house and had a go (I did save a few seeds from vegetables we’d eaten such as squash, pumpkins and lemons). The spinach and chard are ready to be eaten and we’ve already made a start on the spinach, I’ll harvest a bunch of chard this weekend for next week. The first vegetable to really make an appearance though were the courgettes. I bought a variety seed pack, we had a couple of gorgeous pale green ones first and today I harvested a bright yellow one! It is beautiful!

Courgette and basil soup

Drowning in courgettes I was wondering what I could do, I was also pondering what to have for lunches the next week and this soup was born. I love basil and it was the obvious choice to liven up my courgette soup. I had some carrots and potatoes that needed using up too, so in they went. I plan to use my courgettes to make courgette gratin gnocchi and cakes too!

Courgette

I believe soup is a thing that should be made with what you’ve got, as opposed to going out to buy loads of ingredients, so if you haven’t quite got enough or any of anything then just substitute it for what you do have! Unless you are having particular cravings for a certain flavour soup of course! For me it is always French Onion.

Ingredients:  (Makes about 6 portions)

  • A heaped teaspoon of butter
  • 1 onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, peeled and chopped
  • ~4 courgettes (more or less if you’ve got them), chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • Potatoes: about half – three quarters the amount of courgette you have in potatoes, mine were all tiny potatoes, so about 12 but it was about half the volume of the courgette once chopped)
  • 1-1.5 l of vegetable stock, depending on how much veg you have and how big your pan is
  • A big bunch of basil
  • Salt & pepper, to season

Method:

  1. Melt the  butter in a very large saucepan and add the onion.
  2. Once the onion has softened add the garlic and cook for a couple of minutes.
  3. Add all the vegetables and stir to coat in butter and fryjust for a couple of minutes until they begin to brown slightly.
  4. Pour in the stock, bring to the boil and then lower the heat to simmer. Place a lid or cover on the pan and cook until the potatoes and carrots are soft ~20-30 minutes.
  5. Turn off the heat and put the entire bunch of basil into the pan, then blend in a food processor or blender until smooth (you may have to do it in batches).
  6. Season then reheat if serving immediately.
Leave a Reply

