Christmas Gift DIY: Gingerbread Jars

I cannot believe how quickly this year has gone! It has flown by and my gosh it has been a busy one. Especially the last 6 months. But I have finally made it online to blog (after meaning to do so properly every weekend for the last three months) to share with you a simple DIY Christmas gift idea. If you are anything like me this year, you are totally unprepared. I didn’t even make my Christmas cakes until November! Given how busy I have been, I decided to make my Christmas hampers a little less labour-intensive. These were top of my list to try and these custom spoons are the star of the show, in my opinion, I ordered them from Auntie Mims, along with some other custom bits and pieces (and no they didn’t ask me to say that, I just love their products). Follow them on Twitter for a discount code.

gingerbread-jar

These were so easy to make. I used a BBC GoodFood recipe but added a couple of additional spices. To make them find a jar that is big enough (these are 750 ml jars but as you can see there is space. Enough space to place the cutter inside but if I didn’t have space I was going to tie them to the side with ribbon.

cutter

Fill the jar with all the dry ingredients except the sugar. Place a layer of baking paper over the ingredients in the jar and then add the sugar (this will make it easier to extract just the sugar when making them). Print off the text below (or adjust it as you see fit – credit to BBC GoodFood). Add a cutter and some ribbon and you are done! I’ve ordered some brown paper labels to stick on the jars but they haven’t arrived and I couldn’t wait to share them.

Gingerbread Men:

In the jar:

225g plain flour

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 heaped tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp cardamom

1/8 tsp ground cloves

100g soft brown sugar

 

Add to the jar:

100g of golden syrup

50 g of unsalted butter

 

Method:

Pre-heat oven to gas mark 5 and grease 2 baking sheets.

Heat butter, sugar and syrup until dissolved then leave to cool.

Mix the dry ingredients into the butter mixture and make a dough.

Chill the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes.

Roll out the dough to about 1/4 inch thick and cut into gingerbread men.

Place on trays allowing space to spread.

Cook for 10-15 minutes.

jar-recipe

Leave a Reply

