Hazelnut Butter Chicken

This was a dish I spotted on ‘Paleo With Mrs P’, I adore hazelnut butter but usually in a sweet setting. I had some hazelnut butter that needed using up and this seemed like a great way to do so. I couldn’t quite imagine what it would taste like but it was a really savoury, tasty, mild curry, that I’ll definitely be making again soon. I can’t wait to try other nut butters too, although hazelnut will always be my favourite, in any dish. I loved how few ingredients were needed to create a deep tasting meal. Does that make any sense?! You know what I mean, many layers of flavour, it was multidimensional!

Hazelnuts butter chic

Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • Two chicken breasts/the equivalent thigh meat, chopped
  • 0.5 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp of curry powder (I chose mild, the choice is yours though)
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp of hazelnut butter
  • 1 garlic glove, chopped
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp of coconut oil
  • 120 ml of water
  • Vegetables and rice/cauliflower rice to serve with it, optional

Method:

  1. Heat the coconut oil in a wok/frying pan and cook the onions and garlic for a few minutes until they are soft.
  2. Add the chicken to the pan and cook until sealed.
  3. Add the spices and salt, stir to evenly cover the chicken, add a tbsp of water to help with this. Cook for a minute or two.
  4. Add the rest of the water and the hazelnut butter and stir well, until the hazelnut butter has formed a sauce with the water.
  5. Cook for ~10 ten minutes whilst the sauce thickens up, add more water if it gets too thick.
  6. Serve with the sides of your choice.

2 thoughts on “Hazelnut Butter Chicken

Leave a comment