Cidered Gammon Hotpot (A Slow Cooker Recipe)

I recently became the proud owner of my pops’ slow cooker. It was hidden in the garage until my mum found it, the very same month James and I said we’d actually, really, buy a slow cooker this coming pay day (relationship goals..ha!). Obviously we did not need to buy one due to this good fortune and I’ve been slow cooking up a storm ever since.

My favourite slow cooker moment was 8 km into a 10 km run at about 6:30 pm when I realised how hungry I was, only to remember that dinner was in the slow cooker and ready at 7 pm. Thank goodness for slow cookers. This was the dish that was cooking but prepare for an onslaught of slow cooker recipes.

Cidered Gammon Hotpot

This recipe came from a lovely (and cheap) little book titled ‘200 Light slow cooker recipes‘. I can only apologise for the shoddy photography lately; I mean, it has never been great but time seems to escape me at the moment and I quickly grab a snap before serving dinner. I also really need some plates that aren’t red.

Ingredients: (Serves 4 at 375 calories per serving)

  • 500 g unsmoked gammon joint, trimmed of fat (I actually used a 750 g joint, which increased the calories)
  • 625 g of baking potatoes, chopped into ~1 inch chunks
  • 200 g of small shallots, peeled (I used 2 white onions, halved)
  • 3 carrots, thickly sliced
  • 3 celery sticks, thickly sliced (I didn’t use celery as I am not a fan)
  • 1 large (or 3 small) leeks, thickly sliced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 200 ml of dry cider
  • 200 ml of hot stock (they recommend chicken but I used vegetable)
  • 0.25 tsp of cloves
  • 1 tsp of mustard powder

Method:

  1. Wash the gammon joint under cold water and place into your slow cooker pot.
  2. Add the potatoes, shallots, carrots, celery and leeks to the pot.
  3. Tuck the bay leaves into gaps.
  4. Place the cider and stock into a saucepan, followed by the cloves and mustard powder. Season with pepper (the gammon is salty enough).
  5. Stir and bring to the boil and then pour over the gammon.
  6. Place the lid on your pot and cook on high for 6-7 hours.
  7. Have your day made when you find yourself hungry and realise that dinner is already prepared!
One thought on “Cidered Gammon Hotpot (A Slow Cooker Recipe)

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooker Stock | Noisette

Leave a Reply

