Belly Pork Adobo

This is adobo how it should be, made with belly pork. To make adobo properly you really need the fat content that comes with a meat like belly pork and you need to marinade it overnight and cook it slowly. I haven’t been this excited about a dish I’ve made since I can remember, it was heaven on a plate. Every mouthful was breathtakingly good. Adobo is a dish that takes me back to my childhood, where Lourdes – a dear friend of my dad’s, used to make this dish for me. I’ve never been able to  make an adobo, chicken or pork, as good as hers but this is the closest I’ve come to recreating it. I really, really love this dish.

Belly Pork Adobo

This recipe is another gem from ‘The Ancestral Table’, it is quickly becoming my favourite cook book. I cannot rate it highly enough.

Another thing I cannot express how much I love enough is Orangette, one of my absolute favourite blogs. Its author, Molly Wizenberg, has written her second book Delancey, about the opening of her husband’s restaurant. I’m thoroughly enjoying it and urge you to read her first book – Homemade Life. I wrote a whole post about my feelings on this book and therefore won’t repeat myself here but I LOVE THAT BOOK.

IMG_20140613_202654

Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • 500 g of belly pork, chopped into chunks
  • 0.25 cup of tamari (gluten free soy sauce, normal soy sauce is fine also if you’re not paleo or gluten intolerant)
  • 5 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tbsp of peppercorns
  • 1 tbsp of coconut oil
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1/3 cup of white vinegar ( I used rice vinegar)
  • 0.5 cup of water

IMG_20140613_202605

Method:

  1. In a bowl, combine the pork, tamari, garlic and peppercorns and leave to marinade for at least 2 hours but ideally overnight.
  2. In a dutch oven or large saucepan, heat the coconut oil and on a medium heat, brown the pork pieces until a crust forms. Turn the pieces every 2 – 3 minutes.
  3. Add the bay leaves, vinegar and water and bring to a simmer. Cover and then reduce the heat to low. Leave it to simmer for an hour and don’t remove the lid this time. No peeking!!
  4. Remove the pork pieces and set them aside in a small bowl.
  5. Strain the liquid (but keep it!) and discard the peppercorns, garlic and bay leaves.
  6. Place the pork pieces back into the pot and on a medium heat, sauté the pork until most of the fat has been rendered out and the pieces are crispy. This will take about ten minutes. Wrap the pork pieces in foil.
  7. Place the liquid back into the pan and reduce on a medium-high heat. Alternatively, use the liquid to cook some vegetables in.
  8. Serve the pork in the sauce (with or without vegetables) and enjoy the tastiest belly pork that you’ll ever have!
Leave a Reply

