Mint Choc Brownies

I thought things were supposed to calm down after Christmas! They have not. We have found a new place to live though and move in less than 4 weeks! Maybe March will be quieter?

Back to Christmas though (seems so long ago already), I spent the whole festive period dreaming about and wanting to make these brownies. I’ve been on a mint choc ride these past few months since making some peppermint bark (which I still haven’t shared with you, I’m sorry, maybe next Christmas!) for my Christmas hampers. However, I never got the chance to make them, I had the ingredients ready and everything. So, once we got home, after spending Christmas and Hogmanay in Scotland, I set about beginning my ‘healthy 2016’ with a batch of these… The year doesn’t start until we go back to work right?!

Mint choc brownie

I spotted the recipe on In Jennie’s Kitchen (a ‘go to’ blog of mine) and just switched the flour to gluten free flour. Jennie does have a recipe for grain free peppermint brownies though, if you are so inclined.

Ingredients:

  • 170 g of milk chocolate chips (or a bar broken into chunks, I opted for dark chocolate)
  • 85 g of mint chocolate chips/chunks
  • 75 g of gluten free flour
  • 35 g of good quality dark cocoa powder (such as Green & Blacks)
  • 0.75 tsp of salt
  • 115 g of butter, at room temperature
  • 1.5 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 225 g of granulated natural cane sugar

 

 

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a deep/brownie baking tray.
  2. Place all the chocolate and butter into a microwaveable bowl and heat in 30 second bursts, stirring each time, until melted.
  3. Stir in the vanilla and leave the chocolate to cool a little.
  4. In a large mixing bowl,whisk together the eggs and sugar until they become and pale and thicken up.
  5. Whisk in the melted chocolate mixture.
  6. Fold the flour, cocoa and salt into the mixture.
  7. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 30 minutes or until the centre is set.
  8. Leave to cool and then cut and serve. These warm with some ice cream would be divine!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Mint Choc Brownies

Leave a comment